Is it Dementia or Normal Pressure Hydrocephalus?

“Your husband has dementia,” said the social worker. “What arrangements would you like us to make?” The voice in my head screamed “No! That can’t be right. I want a do-over.” 

I’m not a doctor, but I do know Jack better than anyone. He could barely lift his feet, he was incontinent, his thinking was confused. He’s a type 2 diabetic with coronary artery disease and takes a gazillion pills every day. There could have been any number of explanations for his debilitating illness, but I knew dementia wasn’t one of them. I was determined to find an answer.

Countless trips to the emergency room, blood tests, x-rays, scans, weeks in hospitals and rehab facilities, and numerous attempts at physical therapy left us clueless and frustrated.

That “do-over” came several years after my husband’s symptoms began. A perceptive speech therapist working on Jack’s cognitive deficit referred us to another neurologist. The doctor examined him, asked me questions about changes in Jack, and listened. Then he ran a completely different series of tests including a CT scan, lumbar puncture, continuous lumbar CSF drainage, intracranial pressure monitoring, and isotope cisternography. At last, we had a diagnosis: normal pressure hydrocephalus. And with it came hope. 

What is normal pressure hydrocephalus (NPH)?

NPH is a potentially reversible cause of dementia that can be improved with treatment. It is a chronic, neurological condition caused by an abnormal buildup of cerebrospinal fluid in the brain’s ventricles. The build-up results in the distinctive symptom triad three w’s — incontinence (“wet”), gait instability (“wobbly”), and cognitive changes (“wacky”).