Ultimate Guide to Music Therapy & Therapeutic Music

My grandmother had tears in her eyes as the final notes of “Summertime” faded. The sweet croon of Billie Holiday prompted a story of growing up in the dust of Oklahoma in the Great Depression that I had never heard before. We shared tender moments of laughter and tears between Patti Page songs as my grandmother shared heartwarming story after story. 

Singing is a powerful conduit for reminiscence, connection, and joy. As both a caregiver and a music therapist, I wanted to address a question that I get a lot: what is the difference between music therapy and therapeutic music? 

Organizations including the Utley Foundation and the Global Council on Brain Health agree that music is a great way to improve well-being for those with cognitive decline. As a caregiver, I know your time is precious. So as a certified music therapist, I wanted to outline the ways that different types of music interventions can help your loved one with dementia or cognitive impairment. That way you can use music in the ways that will benefit you and your loved ones the most. 

What's the difference between music therapy and therapeutic music?

Music therapy is provided by a board-certified therapist to work on individualized health goals. In contrast, therapeutic music is the prescriptive use of music to promote well-being or support health outcomesWhere I work at SingFit, we think about therapeutic music as being guided and designed by a music therapist. That way you are using the right music in the best way to achieve therapeutic outcomes. At SingFit we designed a music app that uses protocols that mirrors a music therapy session.